League Members


The League of Wisconsin Municipalities is a membership organization comprised of 190 cities and 415 villages. Cities and villages in Wisconsin are incorporated municipalities that provide a full range of services to persons and properties within their boundaries, including street maintenance and snow plowing, sewer, water and electricity, police and fire protection, garbage collection, libraries, parks and recreation, zoning and planning, and public transportation.

  • Number of Wisconsin Cities: 190
  • Number of Wisconsin Villages: 415
  • Percentage of State Population Residing in Cities and Villages: 70%
  • Largest Municipality: Milwaukee (577,222 in 2020)
  • Smallest Municipality: Village of Yuba (53 in 2020)
  • The median size population of Wisconsin's cities and villages is 1,450.  
  • Number of Municipalities with populations below 2,500: 378
  • Number of Municipalities with populations above 2,500: 223
  • Oldest Municipality: Green Bay
  • Newest Municipalities: Village of Windsor (November 3, 2015); Village of Maine (December, 2015); Village of Fox Crossing (April, 2016); Yorkville (December, 2018) and Silver Lake merged into Salem Lakes (May, 2018); Village of Raymond (April, 2019); Village of Waukesha (March, 2020) and Village of Vernon (June, 2020).  For up-to-date information, check Municipal Boundary Review information at DOA. 
  • Primary sources of Revenue Available to Wisconsin Municipalities: Property Tax, State Aid, fees and charges
  1. A-B
  2. C-E
  3. F-H
  4. I-M
  5. R-S
  6. T-Z