Chief Executives Workshop

Thanks to our 2018 Chief Executives Workshop Sponsors!

2018 Chief Executives Workshop

August 16-17 
Chula Vista Resort
Wisconsin Dells

Online registration for this Workshop has ended.  If you are interested in attending, please contact Event Manager Carrie Jensen at
Print PDF of the Chief Executives Workshop Agenda here.

Wednesday, August 15

5:30 p.m. Welcoming Reception

Thursday, August 16
8:30 a.m. Registration, coffee & rolls

9:00 a.m. Working Well with your Neighbors to Promote a Region
Mayor Tim Hanna, Appleton
Village Administrator Jesse Thyes, Grafton

10:00 a.m. Preventing Sexual Harassment in the #MeToo Era (PowerPoint PDF)
    Leading Cultural Change to Strengthen Your Organization
Attorney Jill Pedigo Hall, von Briesen & Roper
EEOC Harassment Guidance: Updated Policies and Training (PDF) 
Grutzmacher v. Howard County (PDF)

10:45 a.m. Break

11:00 a.m.  How Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation Can Assist Development in Your Municipality Attorney Jennifer Hagner Campbell, Senior Legal Counsel Mary Gage, Senior Economic Development Director, WEDC  
12:00 noon Networking Lunch

1:15 p.m. Municipal Division of Authority: Who Controls What?
Claire Silverman, Legal Counsel, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
Mayor Shawn Reilly, Waukesha
Attorney Matt Dregne, Stafford Rosenbaum, LLP

2:15 p.m. Alternative Methods of Financing New Municipal Facilities
Mayor Mike Palm, Baraboo
Pat Cannon, CDA Executive Director, Baraboo
City Manager Karen Kurt, Platteville

3:15 p.m. Break

3:30 p.m. Small Communities Idea Jam
Discussion Leader:  Village President George Peterson, Rothschild

Large Communities Idea Jam
Discussion Leader:  Mayor Tim Hanna, Appleton

5:30 p.m. Evening Reception

Friday, August 17
7:45 a.m. Breakfast & Panel Discussion:
Municipal Youth Councils
Mayor Kathy Ehley, Wauwatosa
Mayor Zack Vruwink, Wisconsin Rapids
Member Engagement & Communications Director Gail Sumi, League of Wisconsin Municipalities

9:00 a.m. Cool Cities = Hot Economies: How Wisconsin Municipalities Lead the Way 
Keynote Speaker:  Tom Still, Wisconsin Technology Council

10:00 a.m. Break

10:15 a.m. Goals & Prediction for the Next Legislative Session
Senator Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse)
Representative Rob Brooks (R-Saukville)

11:15 a.m. Legislative Update and Your Role in Advancing the Municipal Agenda
Executive Director Jerry Deschane, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
Deputy Director Curt Witynski, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
12:00 p.m. Adjourn

Room block has closed.  

Call Chula Vista Resort directly at 866-991-7986 to see if reservations are still available; the discounted rate deadline was July 25.

Photo Icon

Take any photos of this event? The League is collecting photos for future use, please email Gail Sumi at with any photos you would like to share.