Facts About Wisconsin Municipalities

Cities and Villages in Wisconsin are incorporated municipalities that provide a full range of services to persons and properties within their boundaries, including street maintenance and snow plowing, sewer, water and electricity, police and fire protection, garbage collection, libraries, parks and recreation, zoning and planning, and public transportation.

  • Number of Cities: 190
  • Number of Villages: 410
  • Percentage of State Population Residing in Cities and Villages: 70%
  • Largest Municipality: Milwaukee (595,993 in 2015)
  • Smallest Municipality: Village of Big Falls (59 in 2015)
  • Number of Municipalities with populations below 2,500: 378
  • Number of Municipalities with populations above 2,500: 221
  • Oldest Municipality: Green Bay (Incorporated in 1854) 
  • Newest Municipalities: Village of Windsor (November 3, 2015) and Village of Maine (December, 2015)
  • Primary sources of Revenue Available to Wisconsin Municipalities: Property Tax, State Aid, limited fees and charges